Skip to content
Apparel orders over $100 receive free shipping on the apparel! Click for details.
Apparel orders over $100 receive free shipping on the apparel! Click for details.

Complete Releases 1956-62 (CD) - Aretha Franklin

Original price $16.99 - Original price $16.99
Original price
$16.99 - $16.99
Current price $16.99

For several decades Aretha Franklin has enjoyed the accolade of being called "The Queen Of Soul", a position that was cemented by her landmark 1967 pop and R&B No. 1 "Respect". However, her career as a recording artist was a decade old by that time, having honed her style and singing gospel, jazz and blues- influenced material in her late teens. This great value 48-track collection brings together all of her recordings which were released through to 1962, by which time she had established a reputation as a distinctive, soulful and dynamic performer and had made early inroads in both the R&B and pop charts. It comprises her debut recordings as a gospel artist on the 10" LP "Songs Of Faith", for Joe Von Battle's JVB label, made when she was just 14 years old, and then all her singles for Columbia, most of which came from her three albums for the label "Aretha Franklin With The Ray Bryant Combo", "The Electrifying Aretha Franklin" and "The Tender, The Moving, The Swinging Aretha Franklin", the complete content of which is also included, along with a track from a multi-artist Christmas compilation. It's a thorough showcase for her talent and style in the early years of her career.

Track List

  1. There Is a Fountain Filled with Blood
  2. Precious Lord Pt. 1
  3. Precious Lord Pt. 2
  4. You Grow Closer
  5. Never Grow Old
  6. The Day Is Past and Gone
  7. He Will Wash You White As Snow
  8. While the Blood Runs Warm
  9. Yield Not to Temptation
  10. Right Now
  11. Today I Sing the Blues
  12. Love Is the Only Thing
  13. Over the Rainbow
  14. By Myself
  15. Won't Be Long
  16. All Night Long
  17. It Ain't Necessarily So
  18. Sweet Lover
  19. Who Needs You '
  20. Are You Sure '
  21. Maybe I'm a Fool
  22. Kissin' By the Mistletoe
  23. Operation Heartbreak
  24. I Surrender Dear
  25. Rock-A-Bye Your Baby with a Dixie Melody
  26. I Told You So
  27. Rough Lover
  28. It's So Heartbreakin'
  29. You Made Me Love You
  30. Just for You
  31. Blue Holiday
  32. That Lucky Old Sun
  33. Accentuate the Positive
  34. Exactly Like You
  35. Nobody Like You
  36. Try a Little Tenderness
  37. I Apologize
  38. Without the One You Love
  39. Don't Cry Baby
  40. I'm Wandering
  41. I Don't Know You Anymore
  42. Lover Come Back to Me
  43. How Deep Is the Ocean '
  44. I'm Sitting on Top of the World
  45. Look for the Silver Lining
  46. Just for a Thrill
  47. God Bless the Child
  48. Trouble in Mind