Skip to content
Apparel orders over $100 receive free shipping on the apparel! Click for details.
Apparel orders over $100 receive free shipping on the apparel! Click for details.

Party of One (Vinyl) - Nick Lowe

Sold out
Original price $27.98 - Original price $27.98
Original price
$27.98 - $27.98
Current price $27.98

Vinyl LP pressing. Yep Roc Records will reissue six classic yet long unavailable Nick Lowe albums, fulfilling a longstanding goal of bringing the entire catalog of one of it's flagship artists back into print and available on one label. The albums - Nick the Knife, The Abominable Showman, Nick Lowe and His Cowboy Outfit, The Rose of England, Pinker and Prouder Than Previous, and Party of One - span the years 1982 to 1990, and represent a crucial bridge from Lowe's trailblazing 1970s work to the "remarkable second wind" (New York Times) and widespread critical acclaim that have characterized his more recent releases. For 1990's Party of One, the personnel was drawn from Nick's bandmates on 1987's John Hiatt masterpiece, Bring the Family (Lowe on bass, Jim Keltner on drums and Ry Cooder on guitar) combined with the twin heads of the band The Moonlighters (Austin DeLone - ex of Eggs Over Easy and Bill Kirchen - original Lost Planet Airman and twang kingpin). Nick brought in Dave Edmunds to produce and play even more guitar. They rip through a fantastic batch of original songs highlighted by "All Men Are Liars" and "What's Shakin' on the Hill" which are still staples of Nick's live show. This strong effort led into the Little Village project and can be considered the final chapter in the first half of Nick's career.

Track List

  1. You Got the Look I Like 3:22
  2. (I Want to Build a) Jumbo Ark 3:29
  3. Gai-Gin Man 2:45
  4. Who Was That Man? 3:01
  5. What's Shakin' on the Hill 4:00
  6. Shting-Shtang 3:20
  7. All Men Are Liars 3:22
  8. Rocky Road 3:21
  9. Refrigerator White 3:04
  10. I Don't Know Why You Keep Me on 3:15
  11. Honeygun 2:31